Thursday, 23 May 2013

The Carnegie Medal

As you probably know, I've been taking a class called Children's Literature - not, as you may think, because it was "and easy one" but because children's literature genuinely fascinates me. I'm one of those cross over readers who enjoys a good children's book every bit as much as a smutty romance novel.

Recently for this class we studied the history of the Carnegie Medal. I wondered how many of the award winning books I've actually read so I visited The CILIP Carnegie Medal homepage to find out.
    2012 Patrick Ness, A Monster Calls, Walker Books

    2011 Patrick Ness, Monsters of Men, Walker Books

    2010 Neil Gaiman, The Graveyard Book, Bloomsbury

    2009 Siobhan Dowd, Bog Child, David Fickling

    2008 Philip Reeve, Here Lies Arthur, Scholastic

    2007 Meg Rosoff, Just in Case, Penguin

    2005 Mal Peet, Tamar, Walker Books

    2004 Frank Cottrell Boyce, Millions, Macmillan

    2003 Jennifer Donnelly, A Gathering Light, Bloomsbury Children's Books

    2002 Sharon Creech, Ruby Holler, Bloomsbury Children's Books

    2001 Terry Pratchett, The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents, Doubleday

    2000 Beverley Naidoo, The Other Side of Truth, Puffin

    1999 Aidan Chambers, Postcards From No Man's Land, Bodley Head

    1998 David Almond, Skellig, Hodder Children's Books

    1997 Tim Bowler, River Boy, OUP

    1996 Melvin Burgess, Junk, Andersen Press

    1995 Philip Pullman, His Dark Materials: Book 1 Northern Lights, Scholastic

    1994 Theresa Breslin, Whispers in the Graveyard, Methuen

    1993 Robert Swindells, Stone Cold, H Hamilton

    1992 Anne Fine, Flour Babies, H Hamilton

    1991 Berlie Doherty, Dear Nobody, H Hamilton

    1990 Gillian Cross, Wolf, OUP

    1989 Anne Fine, Goggle-eyes, H Hamilton

    1988 Geraldine McCaughrean, A Pack of Lies, OUP

    1987 Susan Price, The Ghost Drum, Faber

    1986 Berlie Doherty, Granny was a Buffer Girl, Methuen

    1985 Kevin Crossley-Holland, Storm, Heinemann

    1984 Margaret Mahy, The Changeover, Dent

    1983 Jan Mark, Handles, Kestrel

    1982 Margaret Mahy, The Haunting, Dent

    1981 Robert Westall, The Scarecrows, Chatto & Windus

    1980 Peter Dickinson, City of Gold, Gollancz

    1979 Peter Dickinson, Tulku, Gollancz

    1978 David Rees, The Exeter Blitz, H Hamilton

    1977 Gene Kemp, The Turbulent Term of Tyke Tiler, Faber

    1976 Jan Mark, Thunder and Lightnings, Kestrel

    1975 Robert Westall, The Machine Gunners, Macmillan

    1974 Mollie Hunter, The Stronghold, H Hamilton

    1973 Penelope Lively, The Ghost of Thomas Kempe, Heinemann

    1972 Richard Adams, Watership Down, Rex Collings

    1971 Ivan Southall, Josh, Angus & Robertson

    1970 Leon Garfield & Edward Blishen, The God Beneath the Sea, Longman

    1969 Kathleen Peyton, The Edge of the Cloud, OUP

    1968 Rosemary Harris, The Moon in the Cloud, Faber

    1967 Alan Garner, The Owl Service, Collins

    1966 Prize withheld as no book considered suitable

    1965 Philip Turner, The Grange at High Force, OUP

    1964 Sheena Porter, Nordy Bank, OUP

    1963 Hester Burton, Time of Trial, OUP

    1962 Pauline Clarke, The Twelve and the Genii, Faber

    1961 Lucy M Boston, A Stranger at Green Knowe, Faber

    1960 Dr I W Cornwall, The Making of Man, Phoenix House

    1959 Rosemary Sutcliff, The Lantern Bearers, OUP

    1958 Philipa Pearce, Tom's Midnight Garden, OUP

    1957 William Mayne, A Grass Rope, OUP

    1956 C S Lewis, The Last Battle, Bodley Head

    1955 Eleanor Farjeon, The Little Bookroom, OUP

    1954 Ronald Welch (Felton Ronald Oliver), Knight Crusader, OUP

    1953 Edward Osmond, A Valley Grows Up

    1952 Mary Norton, The Borrowers, Dent

    1951 Cynthia Harnett, The Woolpack, Methuen

    1950 Elfrida Vipont Foulds, The Lark on the Wing, OUP

    1949 Agnes Allen, The Story of Your Home, Faber

    1948 Richard Armstrong, Sea Change, Dent

    1947 Walter De La Mare, Collected Stories for Children

    1946 Elizabeth Goudge, The Little White Horse, University of London Press

    1945 Prize withheld as no book considered suitable
    1944 Eric Linklater, The Wind on the Moon, Macmillan

    1943 Prize withheld as no book considered suitable

    1942 'BB' (D J Watkins-Pitchford), The Little Grey Men, Eyre & Spottiswoode

    1941 Mary Treadgold, We Couldn't Leave Dinah, Cape

    1940 Kitty Barne, Visitors from London, Dent

    1939 Eleanor Doorly, Radium Woman, Heinemann

    1938 Noel Streatfeild, The Circus is Coming, Dent

    1937 Eve Garnett, The Family from One End Street, Muller

    1936 Arthur Ransome, Pigeon Post, Cape
Seriously? I've only read five of the Carnegie Medal winning books?

I don't deserve to call myself a bibliophile.

(Well... There's a new challenge in the making...)

How many of these books have you read?


  1. Oddly, I've only read four of these books. I've been thinking about adding another reading challenge based on the different book awards. Any interest in joining me?

    a Shimmering Star

    1. I saw this post and remembered all of the reading lists I sent myself once upon a time. Lol.

    2. I am up for a reading challenge! Name the terms!